Jump to content

Providing independent coverage of the Minnesota Wild.

Subscribe to Wild Xtra Email

Recent Blogs

Article: 2016 Girls’ State HS Hockey Tournament Day 4: Class A and Class AA championships

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 hlrule



  • Administrators
  • 330 posts

Posted 21 February 2016 - 07:24 AM

Championship Saturday arrived for the girls’ state high school hockey tournament, and it did not disappoint. There were hat tricks – yes, plural – and an overtime game. Hardware was handed out, sticks and gloves were tossed in celebration and with it all, the girls’ hockey season came to a close. Here are the results from day four of the state tournament.Class A final: #1 Blake 8, #3 St. Paul United 0

Blake used a five-goal second period and hat tricks from Carly Bullock and Lucy Burton to earn their third state title in four years. For Burton, it was a pure hat trick in a span of just 4:24 in the second period. Ms. Hockey finalist Bullock scored the game’s first two goals in the first period, then had three assists before capping the game and her career with a goal in the final minute of play for her hat trick. The goal was her 10th of the tournament and 22nd in her tourney career, good for a state tournament record in goals scored. Krissy Wendell set the record in 2000 with 21 goals.

It’s the sixth state title for the Blake girls, a state best.

Class AA final: #3 Eden Prairie 3, #4 Maple Grove 2 (OT)

The Eden Prairie Eagles had a 2-0 lead through two periods, but their road to another state title didn’t come easy. They needed an overtime goal to take the title. Senior Lauren Oberle scored on a one-timer with a two-player advantage at 5:36 of the extra session. Maple Grove came back in the third to force overtime, starting with a goal with 11:45 remaining in the third period. About a minute later, the game was tied thanks to a Maia Martinez goal. Anna Gravelle and Rachel Werdin also scored for Eden Prairie.

It’s the third state title for the Eagles, winning also in 2006 and 2008. The Crimson finish as the runner-up in its first state appearance.

All-Tournament teams:

-Class A: Catie Skaja (New Prague forward), Sydney Culshaw (New Prauge goalie), Sophie McGovern (Proctor/Hermantown forward), Emma Brunelle (Warroad goalie), Kaitlyn Kotlowski (Warroad defense), Mariah Gardner (Warroad forward), Joie Phelps (St. Paul United forward), Carly Bullock (Blake forward), Grace Vojta (Blake defense), Lucy Burton (Blake forward), Madeline Wethington (Blake defense), Sylvie Wallin (Blake defense).

-Class AA: Natalie Snodgrass (Eastview forward), Anna Klein (Edina forward), Grace Bowlby (Edina defense), Abigail Boreen (Hill-Murray forward), Mekenzie Steffen (Hill-Murray defense), Breanna Blesi (Maple Grove goalie), Taylor Wente (Maple Grove forward), Tina Kampa (Maple Grove defense), Alexa Dobchuk (Eden Prairie goalie), Anna Gravelle (Eden Prairie forward), Crystalyn Hengler (Eden Prairie defense), Naomi Rogge (Eden Prairie forward).

Random tidbits

-In Class A: Warroad took third place in a 3-1 victory over Proctor/Hermantown. New Prague beat Alexandria 7-0 in the consolation final.

-In Class AA: Hill-Murray took home third place with a 5-3 win over Edina. Eastview beat Lakeville South 2-1 in the consolation final.

-Herb Brooks Awards: Sophie McGovern of Proctor/Hermantown (Class A) and Kaitlyn VanTassel of Forest Lake (Class AA).

Follow Heather on Twitter @hlrule

Follow Wild Xtra on Twitter @wildxtra

Click here to view the article

Followed the Wild since day one. Sports blogger since 2009.


@hlrule | heatherrule.com